



The Flectoral College in Brief

The Electoral College, consisting of 538 electors, was established by the founding fathers as a compromise between election of the president by Congress and election by popular vote. Each State's allotment of electors is equal to the number of House members to which it is entitled plus two Senators.

The electors meet in each State on the first Monday after the second Wednesday in December. A majority of 270 electoral votes is required to elect the President and Vice President. Maryland law requires electors, nominated by their political party and elected on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November of each presidential election year, to cast their votes for the candidates for President and Vice President who received a plurality of the votes cast in the State.

At the meeting of the Electoral College, the electors sign seven original Certificates of Vote. Each Certificate of Vote lists the President and Vice President for whom the electors are voting. These documents are sent to the Vice President and the U.S. National Archives and Record Administration for permanent retention.

On January 6th following each presidential election, Congress meets in joint session to count the electoral votes. The Vice President, as President of the Senate, opens the electoral vote certificates from each state and passes the certificates to tellers who announce the results. The votes are then counted, and the Vice President announces the results and declares the winners.



State of Maryland



Meeting of the Electoral College

Maryland State House 100 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401

December 14, 2020 12:00 p.m.













State of Maryland

Democratic Presidential Electors

Gloria Lawlah, President

Kathleen Matthews, Secretary

Corynne B. Courpas

Thelma T. Daley

Patrick J. Hunt

Peter E. Perini

Kent Roberson

Sheree Sample-Hughes

Catalina Rodriguez Lima

Sachidanand Hebbar





The Ceremony

- I. Opening Remarks, Welcome and Presentation of the Certificate of Ascertainment The Honorable Larry Hogan
- II. Swearing in of Electors by Clerk, Court of Appeals
 The Honorable Suzanne C. Johnson
- **III.** Signing of the Test Book
- **IV.** Introduction of President and Secretary of the Electoral College

Yvette Lewis Chair, Maryland Democratic Party

- V. Roll Call Vote for President of the United States
 Gloria Lawlah
 President of the Electoral College
- VI. Roll Call Vote for Vice President of the United States

Kathleen Matthews Secretary of the Electoral College

- VII. Signing of the Certificate of Vote
- VIII. Sealing of the Certificates for Delivery
- **IX.** Approval of Minutes
- **X.** Delivery of the Certified Votes to the Secretary of State

The Honorable John Wobensmith





