John R. Kish, Chairman William Wellford, Chief Judge, Ward 1 Jacki M. Ricks, Chief Judge, Ward 1 Rhonda Whitley, Esquire, Chief Judge, Ward 2 Ralphenia Tia Clark, Chief Judge, Ward 2



8103 Sandy Spring Road Laurel, Maryland 20707 301-725-5300, Ext. 2121 Email: elections@laurel.md.us

CITY OF LAUREL BOARD OF ELECTION SUPERVISORS

November 20, 2023

Jared DeMarinis, Esquire State Administrator of Elections State of Maryland Board of Elections P. O. Box 6486 151 West St., Suite 200, Annapolis, MD 21401 – 0486

Dear Mr. DeMarinis,

The City of Laurel Board of Election Supervisors conducted the 2023 General Election and residents of the City voted by either mail-in ballot or in-person at two polling locations on both Early Voting on Saturday, November 4, 2023 and Election Day on Tuesday, November 7, 2023.

The following have been duly elected to the respective offices listed below:

Keith R. Sydnor	-	Mayor
Christine Johnson	-	Councilmember, At-Large
Carl W. DeWalt	-	Councilmember, Ward 1
James Kole	-	Councilmember, Ward 1
Kyla Clark	-	Councilmember, Ward 2
Jeffrey W. Mills	-	Councilmember, Ward 2

Attached, please find Resolution No. 10-2023 adopted by the Mayor and City Council of Laurel on November 9, 2023 accepting the results of the election and also the final Early Voting, Election Day and Canvass tally sheet.

If additional information is required, please contact Ms. Sara A. Green, CPM, CMC, City Clerk at 301-725-5300 Ext. 2121 or <u>sgreen@laurel.md.us</u>.

Sincerely,

John R. Kit 150

John R. Kish Chairman



CITY OF LAUREL, MARYLAND

RESOLUTION NO. 10-2023

A RESOLUTION OF THE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL OF LAUREL, MARYLAND TO RECEIVE THE RETURNS OF THE 2023 GENERAL ELECTION FROM THE CITY OF LAUREL BOARD OF ELECTION SUPERVISORS

Sponsored by the President at the request of the Administration.

WHEREAS, the City of Laurel Board of Election Supervisors conducted the 2023 General Election and residents of the City voted by either mail-in ballot or in-person at two polling locations on both Early Voting on Saturday, November 4, 2023 and Election Day on Tuesday, November 7, 2023, and

WHEREAS, the Board of Election Supervisors present the following as having been duly elected to the respective offices listed below:

Keith R. Sydnor	-	Mayor
Christine Johnson	-	Councilmember, At-Large
Carl W. DeWalt	-	Councilmember, Ward 1
James Kole	-	Councilmember, Ward 1
Kyla Clark	-	Councilmember, Ward 2
Jeffrey W. Mills	-	Councilmember, Ward 2

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Mayor shall serve a term of four (4) years, beginning with the fourth Monday in November 2023, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that each of the Councilmembers shall serve a term of two (2) years, beginning with the fourth Monday in November 2023, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the City Clerk shall notify the Mayor and Councilmembers of their election, and request that they be present at the Council Chambers of the Mayor and City Council on Monday, November 27, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. for gualification as such.

ADOPTED this 9th day of November, 2023.

ATTEST:

City Clerk

SARA A. GREEN, CPM, CMC

BRENCIS D. SMITH President of the City Council

APPROVED this <u>9th</u> day of <u>November</u>, 2023.

CRAIG A., MOE Mayor

			CITY C	CITY OF LAUREL		5			
		COMPINED	Unofficial	Unofficial Tally Results	Unofficial Tally Results	5			
			Saturday, N	Saturday, November 4, 2023	023				
Category Name:	EARLY VOTE WARD 1	EARLY VOTE WARD 2	ELECTION DAY ELECTION DAY WARD 1 WARD 2	ELECTION DAY WARD 2	TOTALS	ABSENTEE	PROVISIONAL	HAND COUNT	GRAND VOTE TOTAL
Public Count #							46+		
MAYOR VOTE FOR ONE(1)									
SEETA DEONAUTH					43		013	G	46
MARTIN MITCHELL					Sht		t+S	0	tst
BRENCIS D. SMITH					193		1+3	0	+61
KEITH R. SYDNOR		-			ofili		9+13	q	1,194
SOPHADY UONG			1		150		5+0	0	155
AT-LARGE VOTE FOR ONE(1)									
CHRISTINE M. JOHNSON					1,004		Stid	Q	1,023
ENRICO A. MCCLEARY, II					366		1+8	0	375
ADRIAN G. SIMMONS					118		8+8	0	408
WARD 1 VOTE FOR TWO(2)									
CARL W. DEWALT					466		Ś		469
JAMES KOLE					185		51		586
CONNIE LUCAS					169		-		941
STEPHEN J. WALLACE					316		9		405
WARD 2 VOTE FOR TWO(2)									
KYLA CLARK					629		ht	-	644
MELVIN E. LINDSLEY					494		t	1	99H
THOMAS E. MATTHEWS, JR.					323		8	0	329
JEFFREY W. MILLS					530		15	0	543

Page 1 of 1

498

UNOFFICIAL WITH ABSENTEES Tally Results - By Election

11/08/2023

Category Name:	Party Name:	Vote Count	Percent Votes
AT-LARGE	A ditty radies		
CHRISTINE M. JOHNSON		1,004	46.03%
ENRICO A. McCLEARY, II		366	16.78%
ADRIAN G. SIMMONS		811	37.18%
MAYOR			
SEETA DEONAUTH		43	1.87%
MARTIN MITCHELL		745	32.38%
BRENCIS D. SMITH		193	8.39%
KEITH R. SYDNOR		1,170	50.85%
SOPHADY UONG		150	6.52%
WARD 1			
CARL W. DeWALT		466	28.91%
JAMES KOLE		581	36.04%
CONNIE LUCAS		169	10.48%
STEPHEN J. WALLACE		396	24.57%
WARD 2			
KYLA CLARK		629	31.90%
MELVIN E. LINDSLEY		490	24.85%
THOMAS E MATTHEWS, JR.		323	16.38%
JEFFREY W. MILLS		530	26.88%